Today, we're so pleased to announce the 2018 finalists for our Prize.

Our Prize is split into two distinct arms: our MTI Mentorship Award providing a 12 month programme of developmental support to writers with a new musical, and our prize for Best New Song which recognises an outstanding song from a new musical.

For our 2018 MTI Mentorship Award, we received 38 submissions from MMD writers who all had 1st drafts of a musical. From these entries, we've whittled it down to 3 finalists:

Terror at the Sweet Shop
Music & Lyrics by Gavin Brock
Book by Nichola Rivers

The Mill on the Floss
Book, Music & Lyrics by Thomas Sutcliffe
Additional Music & Lyrics by Lydia Grant

The Season
Book & Lyrics by Kit Buchan
Music by Jim Barne

For Best New Song we received a staggering 176 entries and these are the final 12:

As Long As I Have Music by Rob Eyles & Robert Gould
Better Kind of Me by Rachel Bellman & Josh Bird
Down the Stairs - Adam Wachter
Everything Will Be Alright by China Doll, Roxanne Grant, Leah Fogo & Scott Strait
Famous by Bomi Lee & Jason Young
If I Had Wings by Jim Barne & Kit Buchan
Love (Theme from Carousel) by Rosabella Gregory
Set the Alarm for Six by Bella Barlow &  A.C. Smith
Shone With The Sun by Benjamin Till, Nathan Taylor & Sir Arnold Wesker
Somewhere In Between by Nick Butcher
Stars (Girl Like Me) by Sara Eker and Giles Fernando
You and Me by Adam G Wachter

The winners will be announced at a West End gala in June. Details to follow shortly!

We'd like to say a huge thank you to everyone who submitted their work, both us and and our panels of guest judges loved listened and reading to such an electic mix of material. Thank you to Mercury Musical Developments, and to Music Theatre International Europe, who generously support our Mentorship Award.

For more information about the Stiles + Drewe Prize, please visit